Begun two seasons ago, Oregon Mozart Players’ annual Young Soloist Competition has a proud tradition of featuring some of Oregon’s finest young musicians.  The first- and second-place winners in both the senior and junior divisions of the competition receive cash awards, and first-place winners are featured soloists with the ensemble in its final subscription concert of the season; this year, May 6, 2017.

Made up of two rounds, the competition is open to instrumental musicians age 18 or under who reside in the state of Oregon. Preliminary round videos are judged to determine up to 12 finalists who compete in a live final round, open to the public at no charge in February, in Beall Concert Hall at the University of Oregon School of Music. A panel of distinguished musicians and educators determine the 1st and 2nd place winners in each division.

2017 Competition Winners

Senior division: Avery Hsieh, piano

Junior division, Claire Ku, piano.

Our runners-up were also pianists this year: Victor Rudkowsky (Senior); and Jude Dow-Hygeland (Junior).

Thank you to all the students who participated and to our judges, OMP Artistic Director Kelly Kuo; Eugene Weekly Arts Editor Bob Keefer; OMP principal harpist Jane Allen; and OMP concertmaster Alice Blankenship!

Come hear these talented young musicians — Avery playing Weber and Claire playing Beethoven — at our May concert when OMP performs Elgar and Prokofiev.

To read the bios of our winners and other 2017 Finalists, click here.

2016 Competition Winners

Senior division: Grace Rosier, Ravel: Tzigane

Junior division: Michael Gu, Mendelssohn: Piano Concerto No. 1 in G Minor, Op. 25, 1st movement

Junior division: Adrian Hsieh, Saint-Säens: Cello Concerto No. 1 in A Minor, Op. 33, 3rd movement

2015 Competition Winners

Senior division: Claire Wells, Arutiunian: Violin Concerto, 2nd, 3rd, and 4th movements

Junior division: John Fawcett, Dvorak: Violin Concerto in A Minor, 3rd movement